I love my dog as much as I love you..

Damn. Today was really crappy. My roommate and I finally were able to get to Fes to get my pup and her cat spayed and neutered. After calling around to different vets and organizations, we (along with another volunteer that adopted Kika’s sister) were able to find a vet in Fes who did the surgeries. Omar was kind enough to speak to the vet over the phone about exactly what we needed and set up a time to come in. Brenna and I woke up bright and early, packed up the pets, and headed to the taxi station. After yesterdays taxi fiasco with the pup (a story for another day,) I was in no mood for anybody to tell me to put Kika in the trunk of the taxi again. Brenna and I found a taxi going to Fes, jumped in the front seat together and shut the door before anybody could say anything. The taxi driver saw us and started throwing a fit, telling us to put them both in the trunk, but thankfully other taxi drivers told him that we often travel with the pets and that they will just sleep the whole time. So off we went…

When we got to Fes almost 2 hours later, we showed some guys the vets address thinking that it was actually going to be that simple and ended up trekking the dog (and cat!) to FIVE different vet offices before actually finding the one we had the appointment at. A few Moroccans trying to save face wasted our time yet again. Can you please just tell us that you actually do not know where this address is instead of walking us around to other vet offices? We finally found an older man who ended up searching far and wide until he found us our vet (the one whose address we had the whole time.) Hamdulilah.

When we walked in the vet was expecting us because Omar had called him an hour prior. Unfortunately Omar didn’t come with us, but he was just a phone call away when we needed help. The vet was super friendly and got started right away by injecting Kika with some sleep stuff and out she went… and out we went to Marjan (walmart-like Moroccan store.) About 2 hours later the vet called to let us know that both pets were done and we could go pick them up. We got to the vets to find him gone (his friendly assistant holding down the fort) and the pets in “recovery” carriers, both awake but groggy. I put Kika in my arms, Brenna put the car in her backpack, and off we went to get a taxi home.

No travel experience in Morocco is ever smooth, so in true Moroccan fashion we were stranded at the taxi station for an hour and a half waiting for a taxi to come who would let us bring the pets. At this point we were exhausted, stressed, messy, sad, had backpacks full with stuff, and I had a bloody crying dog in my arms. We must have had 25 people come up to us with confused looks asking what in the hell we were doing. Nobody really has house pets here, and the concept of making a living being not able to have offspring is pretty bizarre to locals. Finally somebody took pity on us and let us pay for the entire back seat of the taxi so we could get our pets home.

In the taxi, poor Kika was crying a lot. She also threw up a bunch of stomach acid inside her head cone and peed all over me. It was a very unpleasant trip for us all. We finally arrived back in Azrou 3 hours after their surgery was complete. The cat seems to be doing well– walking around, eating, drinking, acting fairly normal. Kika on the other hand is not doing so well. She’s crying a lot, not wanting to eat or drink, and cannot get herself into a comfortable position. Poor babe.

Trekking 2 pets through a very large city after just being operated on and having to deal with unruly taxi drivers, vomit, blood, pee, and the stares and laughs (are head cones THAT funny?) was a nightmare.

Yeah, so, getting a pet fixed in a developing country… not fun. Something else that is not fun: not having water for 2 days. Thanks neighbor for the 5kilo bottle of water to hold us off.

Newly spayed Kika

Newly spayed Kika

In other news, I’m meeting with the director of the Azrou Center tomorrow morning to finalize my schedule with them and discuss my proposed community development projects and I am also going to go to the other Dar Chebab (we have 2 here) to try to start working with them. Brenna will take over everything at our current Dar Chebab and I will work at the other one and the Azrou Center, inch’Allah. There just isn’t enough work for the both of us at one Dar Chebab…

..and my friend and I booked our tickets to West Africa for this summer. 2 weeks in Ghana, Togo, and Benin followed by a 24 hour layover in Madrid on our way home. yahoo!

..and another volunteer friend of mine hosted a Super Bowl Party this past weekend. About 15 volunteers and new trainees got together for it, ate a lot of food, and had a ton of fun. It’s really wonderful living so close to such good friends.

Hope ya’ll are happy and healthy.

4 comments

  1. How is your baby doing now, Nikki? I’m not sure what kind of dog she is, but German Shepard’s are extremely sensitive to anesthesia. Guinness had a couple of surgeries, and he did NOT handle it well at all.

    1. nicolecronin · · Reply

      UGH, sorry I did not reply sooner! She is soooo much better thank goodness. Its been almost 2 weeks since surgery, which means I can finally bathe her soon (stinky pup) and her stitches should start falling out any day. How horribly scary it was to see her so sick. I was a mess over it… I wonder how I’ll be if I ever have children!

  2. :( that is sooo sad… I think I know, how you must feel:

    http://stephsoul.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/vegetarian-surfing/

    1. nicolecronin · · Reply

      yes, girl! I’m sorry for the loss of your cat! Did you get to see a sheep slaughtered while you were here? I wrote all about my l-3id experience in my post called “Mary had a little lamb.” Thanks for reading, keep it veg!

Thoughts? Please share.

Morocco Chronicles

A Peace Corps Volunteer's adventures as a Youth Developer in Morocco!

Morocco's Modern Life

Anooj's Adventures as a PCV

Lou Around the World in 80 Days

My Many (Mis)Adventures

الاتجاه المعاكس

The Opposite Directions

Peace Corps Lmghrib

Life in Morocco

MoRockin My World

There and Back Again: A Peace Corps Volunteer's Tale

Hopscotch Adoptions

Not for profit. Just for kids.

The Adventures of Moroccan Fern

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” ― Paulo Coelho

After Cal(ifornia)

Travel, Peace Corps Morocco, and the many other adventures of a Cal grad and Golden State native. [DISCLAIMER: This site in no way reflects the views/opinions of the US Government, Peace Corps, or the Kingdom of Morocco]

Cam's Community

Finding out what I can offer this world.

Following My Bliss: Morocco

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.” ― Joseph Campbell

Sarah Goes to Morocco

My journey through the Peace Corps

“Peace cannot be achieved through violence, it can only be attained through understanding.”

Moroccan Peace Corps Volunteer, follow me on this crazy 27 month journey!

James in Morocco - a Peace Corps blog

A glimpse into my life in the Peace Corps

Jeff's Peace Corps Morocco Blog

27 Months in Morocco for Youth Develpment

Ana Mn Mirikan

Glimpses into Moroccan life, through an American's eyes

Live Life Tr3mendously

Peace Corps Morocco 2014-2016. African American Woman. Naturalista-Service-Life

Adventure Time: Morocco

The following is the story of Stefan's postgraduate shenanigans. DISCLAIMER:The views, opinions, and observations expressed in this journal are my own and in no way reflect the views, opinions, or policy of the Peace Corps, Peace Corps Morocco, nor any other governmental or non-governmental organization.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Getting away to see what I can find

An awfully big adventure

Abbey Kate

A blog devoted to discovering the world.

4000 Miles from Home

(and M*ch*g@n still sucks)

JordoneWrites

I want to Inspire you to…

American Muslimah's Musings

Everything is on the table

كوين ف المغرب

my 27 months (+ extension!) as a Peace Corps volunteer in Morocco

Nikki's Moroccan Journey

The content expressed on this blog is my own and does not represent or reflect the opinions of the Peace Corps, U.S. government, or the Kingdom of Morocco.

saunterings

essays, poems, and remarks, all lost with a purpose

thewanderinglemon

This blog reflects my thoughts and mine alone, not those of the US Government, the Peace Corps, or the Government of Morocco

theyoders

Every foreign land a fatherland

my marrakech express

The adventures of a PCV in Morocco

مِريكانية

Opinions and statements are my own and do not necessarily reflect the United States government or the Peace Corps

