wild horses couldn’t drag me away…

I really, really, really love my life here. As much as I may gripe, whine, and daydream about being in other places (too often,) I am really living quite a wonderful life here in Morocco as a Peace Corps Volunteer. With such a rough start, I really had to learn to love it…

The past week has been a bit of a positive energy booster for me. As I mentioned before I was asked by staff to go to Rabat to help with the new group of Americans who just arrived. I ended up extending my stay a night and staying all weekend to hang out with them. Between all their excitement, positive attitudes, enthusiasm, interest, and optimism I totally got rejuvenated and came back to my small mountain town with a new sense of purpose. I was able to get to know a good amount of the 95 new folks, and I loved everybody I met! I am excited to have more Americans here in country and I am so hoping that one or two of them will be placed here in Azrou come April. As for now, they are in smaller cites doing training (the same thing I went through in Ifrane.) To the new staj, thanks for the good times this past weekend and I look forward to spending more time with ya’ll. And please remember, don’t take yourself too seriously here…

It took me awhile to learn that lesson, but now I have it pretty down. I can’t get mad when my boss doesn’t show up to work and hence I am locked outside in the snow. I can’t get mad when I had class planned and my kids told me they aren’t coming because they are studying for a test or traveling out of town. I can’t get mad when the entire youth center is closed because it is raining or too cold. I can’t get mad when my host mom told me she was coming over and then never shows up. I can’t get mad when girls my age make fun of my outfit while im walking to the market to get carrots. I can’t get mad when people bark at my dog, scream bonjour, or hiss in my ear. Sure, it’s annoying, but also pretty hysterical. I used to get real mad when the class “schedule” would change from what I had originally planned. “Tuesday and Thursdays, ok?” “Yes, if God wills it.” –fast forward to the next week on Tuesday– “Why are there no kids here?” “Oh because class is now on Fridays.” –fast forward to the following week. “I thought we decided on 4pm?” “No, class is at 5pm.” OKAY, I finally get it. Nothing is set in stone and everything will always change. All of the time.

This has been one of the hardest things to get used to while living here (I’ve been here for almost a year!) In the states, I had a very set schedule and enjoyed it. I could plan for weekends away, doctors appointments, etc. Here in Morocco, my weekends are Sundays and Mondays, I travel 10 hours roundtrip and stay overnight when I have to see the doctor, and things are cancelled at the drop of the hat. Actually, not even cancelled, people just don’t show up and things just don’t happen as planned.

While life can be very challenging here, it is a rather charmed life. For everything that does and doesn’t happen here in Morocco, I am very thankful. 

As for things coming up: I have off until next week because of the Prophet Mohammed’s (Peace be upon Him) birthday. Next week English and fitness classes will commence, as well as grant writing and project planning for a Women’s Health and Wellness 2-Day Seminar I am planning to take place here in the Spring, inch’Allah. 

One comment

  1. rvoss524@comcast.net · · Reply

    Nicole: What powerful lessons you are learning. . . . Good wishes. In some ways your experiences with time and “schedules” is parrallel to many of my experiences in American Indian Country.  Thanks for keeping and catching up! Rick.

Thoughts? Please share.

Dust Storms and Tea Breaks

From the desert of Morocco to the mountains of Tajikistan

Love, InshAllah

Fresh Perspectives on Love

saharasolli

marokko für ein jahr

Morocco Chronicles

A Peace Corps Volunteer's adventures as a Youth Developer in Morocco!

Morocco's Modern Life

Anooj's Adventures as a PCV

Lou Around the World in 80 Days

My Many (Mis)Adventures

الاتجاه المعاكس

The Opposite Directions

Peace Corps Lmghrib

Life in Morocco

MoRockin My World

There and Back Again: A Peace Corps Volunteer's Tale

Hopscotch Adoptions

Not for profit. Just for kids.

The Adventures of Moroccan Fern

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” ― Paulo Coelho

Peace Corps Morocco Resources

One place for all your file-sharing needs

After Cal(ifornia)

Travel, Peace Corps Morocco, and the many other adventures of a Cal grad and Golden State native. [DISCLAIMER: This site in no way reflects the views/opinions of the US Government, Peace Corps, or the Kingdom of Morocco]

Cam's Community

Finding out what I can offer this world.

Following My Bliss: Morocco

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.” ― Joseph Campbell

Sarah Goes to Morocco

My journey through the Peace Corps

“Peace cannot be achieved through violence, it can only be attained through understanding.”

Moroccan Peace Corps Volunteer, follow me on this crazy 27 month journey!

James in Morocco - a Peace Corps blog

A glimpse into my life in the Peace Corps

Jeff's Peace Corps Morocco Blog

27 Months in Morocco for Youth Develpment

Ana Mn Mirikan

Glimpses into Moroccan life, through an American's eyes

Live Life Tr3mendously

Peace Corps Morocco 2014-2016. African American Woman. Naturalista-Service-Life

Adventure Time: Morocco

The following is the story of Stefan's postgraduate shenanigans. DISCLAIMER:The views, opinions, and observations expressed in this journal are my own and in no way reflect the views, opinions, or policy of the Peace Corps, Peace Corps Morocco, nor any other governmental or non-governmental organization.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Getting away to see what I can find

An awfully big adventure

Abbey Kate

A blog devoted to discovering the world.

4000 Miles from Home

(and M*ch*g@n still sucks)

American Muslimah's Musings

Everything is on the table

كوين ف المغرب

my 27 months (+ extension!) as a Peace Corps volunteer in Morocco

Nikki's Moroccan Journey

The content expressed on this blog is my own and does not represent or reflect the opinions of the Peace Corps, U.S. government, or the Kingdom of Morocco.

saunterings

essays, poems, and remarks, all lost with a purpose

thewanderinglemon

This blog reflects my thoughts and mine alone, not those of the US Government, the Peace Corps, or the Government of Morocco

theyoders

Every foreign land a fatherland

my marrakech express

The adventures of a PCV in Morocco

مِريكانية

Opinions and statements are my own and do not necessarily reflect the United States government or the Peace Corps

